Dove: Criminal Sketch Artists Show Women True Beauty

Dove has been known for inner beauty campaigns, and when I think “Dove,” that is the first thing that comes to mind.  The Campaign for Inner Beauty is something that I have followed in the past, and I love the message that it gives.  The brand’s most recent campaign is a little out of the box, and I’m still not positive how I feel about it.  I’ll tell you a little bit more about it, and let you be the judge.

Dove has hired FBI Criminal Sketch Artists to draw women as described by the women themselves, and then as described by a stranger.  The results showed that women are more likely to think less of their outer appearance than strangers do.  To make it simple, we are our own worst critics.  An article from Ad Week goes into more detail about the campaign.

It is definitely an interesting idea, but in the end, does it sell more soap?

Leave a comment